Sunday, July 8, 2012

USA Basketball announced its 12-man roster.

Jerry Colangelo, president of USA Basketball,  announced the final roster that will be representing the Americans in this year London Olympics.

The roster includes: Lebron James (Miami Heat) Kevin Durant, Russell Westbrook  & James Harden (Oklahoma City Thunder), Kobe Bryant (Los Angeles Lakers), Chris Paul and Blake Griffin (Los Angeles Clippers), Carmelo Anthony & Tyson Chandler (New York Knicks),  Kevin Love (Minnesota Timberwolves), Andre Iguodala (Philadelphia 76ers) & Deron Williams (Nets)

Some of the names not included on the team are Dwyane Wade and Chris Bosh ( Miami Heat), Derrick Rose (Bulls), Dwight Howard (Orlando) all of them couldn't participate due to injuries.

This version of team USA has 5 members of the Olympic team that won the gold medial in the Beijing Olympics in 2008 (Lebron James, Kobe Bryant, Deron Williams, Chris Paul & Carmelo Anthony) 5 other members from the 2010 team that also won the gold medial in the World Championships in Turkey (Kevin Durant, Russell Westbrook, Kevin Love, Tyson Chandler & Andre Iguodala) & two new members without any experience internationally (James Harden and Blake Griffin)

Despite the tough opponents in Spain, Argentina, Brazil and France, team USA is expected to win the gold medal again and go undefeated,  anything other than that would be disappointing.

Source:  USA Basketball

Follow me on Twitter @JohnnyNBA and Like us on Facebook.

No comments:

Post a Comment